It’s a Blackberry Summer!!

My Dad is so great.  He helps out friends of his who have a farm in Springfield TN and puts so much blood, sweat, and old fashioned hard work just so he can bring home fresh produce and share with friends and family.  There is not much reward monetarily. He really is such an inspiration to me the way he works so hard and his commitment to help people. Anyway they have blackberries there, TONS of blackberries and right before he planted them at the farm he planted 3 plants in my backyard for my little family.  The first year we got nothing. The second a couple quarts, enough to have on our cereal in the morning and a good little snack.  Now, we have tons and tons of blackberries. They went absolutely crazy this year. They are huge, almost the size of crab apples, so juicy and tender all you have to do it put it in your mouth – no chewing necessary. I guess it’s the variety, thorn-less, one grows like a vine so I have them wrapped around my deck.  All Hannah has do to is go out pick some berries wash them and boom she has a snack.  I am getting blackberries from the farm and from my backyard we have so much! It’s really pretty wonderful.

Look how big they are!

So, what am I going to do with all those blackberries?  Not let them got to waste that’s for sure. Raise your hand if you LOVE Pioneer Women! If you haven’t stop what you’re doing AFTER you’ve read my blog and check out her blog http://thepioneerwoman.com/.  She is truly amazing and many of my recipes have come from her.  When I follow recipes I have a bad habit of making it my own. There are so many versions of cobbler and after making this particular one I have decided I don’t like the biscuit kind just too dry and some of them can get kinda tough.  Many people do like them and I used to as a kid but just not for me after I’ve had this one. This is more of a shortcake flavor, really easy and quick to prepare but patience is needed greatly when baking.

Here’s what you need

  • 1 stick Butter
  • 1-1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1 cup Self-Rising Flour
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 2 cups Blackberries (frozen Or Fresh)

Wash and dry your blackberries. YAY! these all came from my backyard!

Melt your 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter in a microwave. You’ll want to melt the butter a little more than I did.

Take 1 cup sugar and flour pour in bowl and mix it up.

Now pour milk in and whisk. Then pour the melted butter and whisk. Make sure everything is mixed really well. After this butter your baking dish really well.  This is so your cobbler won’t stick to the sides so don’t go stingy on this part.

Pour ALL the batter into a baking dish.

Sprinkle your desired amount of blackberries. The recipe called for 2 cups, I just didn’t think that was enough so I added another cup. My husband didn’t that was enough so I made another one and it was about 4 cups, which was a little to much. So, if you like a lot of blackberries in your cobbler why don’t you try 3 1/2 😉

Sprinkle with 1/4 cup sugar (or 1/2 cup I really like the hard sugary crust it leaves). Leave about a teaspoon to sprinkle more on 10 minutes before it’s ready.

Now it’s ready to get into the oven. 350 degrees for about an hour or until your cobbler is a nice golden color and bubbly.

IT’S DONE!! My daughter said it best tonight when she saw the dish. She said mommy what happened to it? There was a lot this morning and now it’s almost all gone. This stuff is good!


4 thoughts on “It’s a Blackberry Summer!!

Leave a Reply

